IOCL Barauni Refinery Recruitment 2026: 272 Apprentice Posts – Apply Online @ www.iocl.com
⚡ Quick Facts & Key Highlights
| Recruiting Body | Indian Oil Corporation |
|---|---|
| State / Jurisdiction | Bihar |
| Total Posts | 272 |
| Last Date for Application | 06 December 2026 |
| Mode of Application | Online Portal |
| Selection Process | Written / Online Examination (CBT) |
Get Indian Oil Corporation Alerts on Mobile
Never miss new Indian Oil Corporation notifications, official PDFs & exam updates. Join our verified community channels:
Post-Wise Vacancy & Training Details
| Code | Post Designation | Vacancies | Age Limit (as on 30.11.2026) | Training Period |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 101 | Trade Apprentice – Attendant Operator (Chemical Plant), Discipline: Chemical | 190 | 18–24 Years (Gen/EWS) | 12 Months |
| 103 | Trade Apprentice (Boiler), Discipline: Mechanical | 38 | 18–24 Years (Gen/EWS) | 24 Months |
| 105 | Technician Apprentice, Discipline: Mechanical | 21 | 18–24 Years (Gen/EWS) | 12 Months |
| 107 | Technician Apprentice, Discipline: Instrumentation | 23 | 18–24 Years (Gen/EWS) | 12 Months |
Stipend: Monthly stipend as prescribed under the Apprentices Act, 1961/1973, the Apprentices Rules 1992 (as amended) and Indian Oil Corporation Limited's guidelines. The exact amount is not specified in the notification. No HRA or company accommodation is provided.
Post-Wise Reservation Breakdown
| Code | Trade / Discipline | Training Period | Total | UR | EWS | SC | ST | OBC (NCL) | PwBD |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 101 | Trade Apprentice – Attendant Operator (Chemical Plant) | 12 Months | 190 | 88 | 19 | 30 | 25 | 10 | 10 |
| 103 | Trade Apprentice (Boiler) | 24 Months | 38 | 17 | 4 | 6 | 11 | 0 | 0 |
| 105 | Technician Apprentice (Mechanical) | 12 Months | 21 | 10 | 2 | 3 | 0 | 6 | 5 |
| 107 | Technician Apprentice (Instrumentation) | 12 Months | 23 | 11 | 2 | 4 | 0 | 6 | 5 |
PwBD reservation is horizontal and applicable only against codes 105 and 107. Seat numbers are tentative and may increase or decrease at management's discretion in compliance with Presidential Directives on reservation.
Eligibility Criteria & Educational Qualification
Code 101 – Trade Apprentice (Attendant Operator, Chemical Plant)
- 3-year B.Sc with Physics, Mathematics, Chemistry or Industrial Chemistry as main subjects from a recognised Board/University/Institute.
- Regular full-time course only. Minimum 50% aggregate marks (45% for SC/ST and PwBD candidates for reserved seats).
Code 103 – Trade Apprentice (Boiler)
- 3-year B.Sc with Physics, Mathematics, Chemistry or Industrial Chemistry as main subjects.
- Regular full-time course only. Minimum 50% aggregate marks (45% for SC/ST and PwBD candidates for reserved seats).
Code 105 – Technician Apprentice (Mechanical)
- 3-year Diploma in Mechanical Engineering from a recognised Institute.
- Regular full-time course only. Minimum 50% aggregate marks (45% for SC/ST and PwBD candidates for reserved seats).
Code 107 – Technician Apprentice (Instrumentation)
- 3-year Diploma in Instrumentation Engineering / Instrumentation & Electronics / Instrumentation & Control Engineering / Applied Electronics & Instrumentation Engineering.
- Regular full-time course only. Minimum 50% aggregate marks (45% for SC/ST and PwBD candidates for reserved seats).
Key Eligibility Conditions
- All qualifications must already be passed on the reckoning date, 30 November 2026. Awaiting-result candidates are not eligible.
- The qualification must be regular full-time, not part-time, correspondence, or distance education.
- B.Sc candidates (PCM/Industrial Chemistry) may apply for only one of code 101 or 103. Multiple applications lead to summary rejection.
- Diploma holders under recognised lateral entry schemes (Class XII Science or ITI admitted in 2nd year of Diploma) are eligible subject to prescribed aggregate percentage across all semesters.
- Candidates with higher professional qualifications (BE/B.Tech, MBA, CA, LLB, MCA or equivalent) are not eligible.
- Engineering graduates, diploma holders, or vocational certificate holders with one year or more of post-qualification job experience are not eligible.
- Candidates who completed 5 years after acquiring the prescribed qualification as on 30.11.2026 are not eligible.
Age Relaxation (as on 30.11.2026)
| Category | Upper Age Relaxation |
|---|---|
| SC/ST (reserved positions) | Up to 5 years |
| OBC (NCL) (reserved positions) | Up to 3 years |
| PwBD (irrespective of reservation) | Up to 10 years |
| PwBD belonging to SC/ST (reserved) | Further 5 years |
| PwBD belonging to OBC (NCL) (reserved) | Further 3 years |
Selection Process
There is no written examination for this recruitment. Selection is based on the following stages:
- Merit List: Candidates ranked by percentage of marks in the prescribed qualification for the applied trade (aggregate of all subjects, all years/semesters). First-time apprentices receive preference. Ties are broken by date of birth (senior first), then by higher Matriculation percentage.
- Document Verification: Shortlisted candidates called for verification of originals and self-attested photocopies of all documents. Tentatively scheduled for 14 December 2026 to 18 December 2026.
- Pre-Employment Medical Examination: Only candidates declared medically fit under the Apprentices Act physical fitness standards are considered.
- Offer of Engagement: Candidates whose documents and medical certificate are in order receive the engagement letter. Filling of seats is at management's absolute discretion.
Note: SC/ST/PwBD candidates attending Document Verification will receive single second class railway fare from the nearest railway station of their mailing address and back, on production of the ticket, if the distance is at least 30 KMs.
Required Documents & Instructions for Candidates
- Original Matriculation (Class X) Certificate / Mark Sheet as Proof of Date of Birth.
- All Degree / Diploma and Consolidated Mark Sheets of the prescribed qualification (all semesters).
- CGPA/OGPA to Percentage Conversion Certificate issued by the University/Institute (if applicable).
- Principal's Certificate of Result Publication Date and Regular Full-Time Mode (if not mentioned on marksheet).
- SC/ST/OBC (NCL) Caste Certificate in Government of India Proforma (OBC NCL validity as on 30.11.2026), or EWS Income & Asset Certificate, or PwBD Disability Certificate under RPwD Rules 2017 (if applicable).
- Printout of NATS/NAPS Registration Confirmation with valid Enrolment Number.
- Annexure-A Affidavit as prescribed in the notification.
- One Original Photo ID Proof — Aadhaar, PAN, Voter ID, Driving Licence, or Passport.
- Two recent passport-size photographs.
- Candidates must declare any ailments, abnormalities, prior UNFIT findings, arrest/prosecution/conviction, or debarment by a Public Service Commission in the application.
- False or incorrect information leads to cancellation of candidature and possible criminal prosecution.
- Canvassing in any form renders a candidate ineligible. The management's decision on eligibility and selection is final.
- Corrigenda and notices will appear only on www.iocl.com. Disputes subject to jurisdiction of the local Court at Begusarai.
How to Apply for IOCL Barauni Refinery Apprentice Recruitment 2026
Both Step I and Step II must be completed for a valid application. No offline application is accepted.
- Step I – NAPS/NATS Portal Registration: Hold a valid and active Apprentice Registration/Enrolment Number with 100% correctly updated profile on the NAPS/NATS portal.
- For codes 101 and 103: Register on NAPS portal, search for IOCL Barauni Refinery location and trade, and apply.
- For codes 105 and 107: Register on NATS portal and apply to the IOCL Barauni Refinery advertisement on the dashboard.
- Use Barauni Refinery Establishment IDs: NATS EBRBEC000003, NAPS E11191000001.
- Step II – Microsoft Forms Submission: Submit the "Barauni Refinery 2026" Apprenticeship Additional Data Form on Microsoft Forms (accessible via www.iocl.com). Submit only once. Enrolment numbers must match between Step I and Step II. Use the same email ID and mobile number as registered on NAPS/NATS — these must remain valid for the entire apprenticeship duration.
Both steps must be completed between 06 November 2026 and 06 December 2026. Queries: [email protected], 06243-275258 / 06243-275240.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the last date to apply for IOCL Barauni Refinery Apprentice Recruitment 2026?
The last date to complete both steps of the online application (NAPS/NATS portal and Microsoft Forms) is 6 December 2026. The application window opens on 6 November 2026.
What is the selection process for IOCL Apprentice 2026?
There is no written examination. Selection is based on a merit list (ranked by aggregate percentage in the prescribed qualification), followed by Document Verification, pre-employment medical examination, and the offer of engagement. Ties are broken by date of birth (senior first), then by higher Matriculation percentage.
Is there an application fee for IOCL Recruitment 2026?
The official notification does not specify any application fee for this apprenticeship recruitment. Candidates should refer to the official notification PDF for any updates on fee applicability.
What is the nature of employment — permanent or contractual?
This is an apprenticeship engagement under the Apprentices Act, 1961/1973 for a training period of 12 months (codes 101, 105, 107) or 24 months (code 103). It is not a permanent government job. Indian Oil Corporation Limited has no obligation to offer employment after the apprenticeship, and an apprentice cannot claim permanent employment on this ground.
What stipend will be paid to IOCL Apprentices at Barauni Refinery?
The monthly stipend is as prescribed under the Apprentices Act, 1961/1973, the Apprentices Rules 1992 (as amended) and Indian Oil Corporation Limited's guidelines. The exact stipend amount is not specified in the notification. No HRA or company accommodation is provided during the training period.
What is the age limit for IOCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026?
The age limit is a minimum of 18 years and a maximum of 24 years as on 30 November 2026 for General/EWS candidates. Relaxations: up to 5 years for SC/ST, up to 3 years for OBC (NCL), and up to 10 years for PwBD candidates against reserved positions. The only accepted proof of age is the Matriculation (Class X) certificate or marksheet.
Important Links
Download Official Recruitment Notification
Download and read the official advertisement PDF for complete post eligibility, category reservations, format of certificates, and application guidelines.